Is the Box Set Canoness Even Legal to play WSIWYG?

"Wait...is that right?!" Why not ask? This is the place to share a rules question (or revelation) you learned at the table.
User avatar
spruter
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 3:46 pm
Name: Seth Pruter
Experience Level: Intermediate
Play Style: Casual
Armies: Sisters of Battle, Blood Angels

Is the Box Set Canoness Even Legal to play WSIWYG?

Postby spruter » Thu Jan 16, 2020 8:41 am

The Monopose Canoness in the box set comes with a power sword (or maybe blessed blade), a Plasma Pistol, and a stick (Either the rod of office or a null rod). In the equipment options in the codex it says “if this model is equipped with 1 boltgun and 1 power sword it additionally has a rod of office” or “if this model has a chainsword, it can have a brazier of holy fire or a null rod.”

So does that mean I absolutely have to have a combination of power sword AND boltgun to get a rod of office? Obviously it can't be a null rod as i need a chainsword for that.
User avatar
MrScotty
Officer
Posts: 1820
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 10:55 am
Name: Scott Mechler
Experience Level: Advanced
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: All of Them

Re: Is the Box Set Canoness Even Legal to play WSIWYG?

Postby MrScotty » Thu Jan 16, 2020 10:42 am

The model out of the box is illegal. I've seen people laughing about this flub.
Game Preferences:
A model may assault upper levels of terrain if they charge far enough to climb them
All current beta rules in effect unless opponent prefers otherwise
I love setting up custom, fluffy scenarios, PM me!
User avatar
Sandtiger
Member
Posts: 713
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:38 am
Name: Tomas Q.
Experience Level: Experienced
Play Style: Casual+Competitive
Armies: Space Wolves, Salamanders

Re: Is the Box Set Canoness Even Legal to play WSIWYG?

Postby Sandtiger » Sat Jan 18, 2020 6:21 pm

So have I, and it remains mystifying why they would do this to themselves. It's such a headscratcher and facepalm moment